2020 Local Government Elections

Victoria will go to the polls on 24 October 2020 to elect new councillors for most of the 79 local councils in Victoria with a few notable exceptions.

Voting is compulsory and the elections will be conducted entirely by post. Postal votes most be posted by 23 October at 6pm to count.

As a radio program covering the issues of Geelong, the Surf Coast and Bellarine Peninsula, we’ll be focusing on the elections for the City of Greater Geelong (11 councillors), Golden Plains Shire (7 councillors), the Borough of Queenscliffe (5 councillors) and Surf Coast Shire (9 councillors).

The City of Greater Geelong and Surf Coast Shire are subdivided into four wards each, while the Golden Plains Shire and Borough of Queenscliffe are not subdivided.

COVID-19 has changed the nature of campaigning, making online resources such as this a valuable place for voters to learn more about who is running in their area.


Postal voting has now closed. This website will be updated with results as we get them from the VEC and scrutineers watching the count.

Enrolment: 260,821

Voter Turnout: 198,863 (76.25% of total enrolment)

Informal Votes: 9,332 (4.69% of total votes)

Formal Votes: 189,531

Elected Candidates

Bellarine (Greater Geelong)
2ndTrent SullivanIndependent
3rdJim MasonIndependent
Brownbill (Greater Geelong)
1stSarah MansfieldGreens
2ndEddy KonteljIndependent
3rdPeter MurrihyIndependent
Kardinia (Greater Geelong)
1stBruce HarwoodIndependent
2ndRon NelsonIndependent
3rdBelinda MoloneyIndependent
Windermere (Greater Geelong)
1stAnthony AitkenIndependent
2ndKylie GrzybekIndependent
Golden Plains Shire
1stBrett CunninghamIndependent
2ndOwen SharkeyIndependent
3rdIan GetsomIndependent
4thHelena KirbyIndependent
5thGavin GambleGreens
6thClayton WhitfieldIndependent
7thLes RoweIndependent
Borough of Queenscliffe
1stRoss EbbelsIndependent
2ndDonnie GrigauIndependent
3rdMichael GroutIndependent
4thSusan SalterIndependent
5thFleur HewittIndependent
Torquay (Surf Coast)
1stKate GazzardGreens
2ndLiz PattisonIndependent
3rdRose HodgeIndependent
Anglesea (Surf Coast)
1stLibby StapletonIndependent
2ndMike BodsworthIndependent
Winchelsea (Surf Coast)
1stHeather WellingtonIndependent
2ndAdrian SchonfelderIndependent
Lorne (Surf Coast)
Gary AllenIndependent

2 seats in doubt.

Party Vote

Socialist Alliance
Animal Justice Party


Close of Rolls28/08/2020 at 4pm
Open Nominations17/09/2020 at 9am
Close Nominations22/09/2020 at 12pm
Ballots PostedFrom 06/10/2020
Postal Votes Due23/10/2020 at 6pm
Election Day24/10/2020
Results From30/10/2020
Last Day For Results13/11/2020

Do you know how council elections work?

Try out our election calculator to understand how candidates get elected and even enter your own vote data to see what the result might be!

City of Greater Geelong

City of Greater Geelong Council
City of Greater Geelong Council

View City of Greater Geelong profile

Bellarine (Greater Geelong)

9 candidates, 3 vacancies. Bellarine (Greater Geelong) electorate profile and candidates

Tom O'ConnorIndependentView
Elise WilkinsonIndependentView
Trent SullivanIndependentView
Naomi AdamsAnimal Justice PartyView
Jim MasonIndependentView
Michael FairweatherIndependentView
Cory WolvertonGreensView
Tom HarrisonIndependentView
Stephen SimmondsIndependentView

Brownbill (Greater Geelong)

12 candidates, 3 vacancies. Brownbill (Greater Geelong) electorate profile and candidates

Sandi DwyerIndependentView
Bernie FrankeIndependentView
Alex CsarIndependentView
Peter MurrihyIndependentView
Stretch KonteljIndependentView
Sarah MansfieldGreensView
Eddy KonteljIndependentView
Gabriel WenyikaIndependentView
Dean HopeIndependentView
Louis HehirIndependentView
Jose RodriguezIndependentView
Melissa CadwellIndependentView

Kardinia (Greater Geelong)

12 candidates, 3 vacancies. Kardinia (Greater Geelong) electorate profile and candidates

Jack WilliamsIndependentView
Ron NelsonIndependentView
Andy RichardsIndependentView
Pat MurnaneIndependentView
Atamjit SinghIndependentView
Belinda MoloneyIndependentView
Anthony Hamilton-SmithGreensView
Bruce HarwoodIndependentView
Andrew AlexanderIndependentView
Mark BrungerIndependentView
Jen GambleAnimal Justice PartyView
Michael StangelIndependentView

Windermere (Greater Geelong)

5 candidates, 2 vacancies. Windermere (Greater Geelong) electorate profile and candidates

Enamul HaqueIndependentView
Kylie GrzybekIndependentView
Monique ConnellIndependentView
Anthony AitkenIndependentView
Sarah HathwaySocialist AllianceView

Surf Coast Shire

Surf Coast Shire Mayor Cr Rose Hodge
Surf Coast Shire Mayor Cr Rose Hodge

View Surf Coast Shire profile

Torquay (Surf Coast)

9 candidates, 4 vacancies. Torquay (Surf Coast) electorate profile and candidates

Maurice ColeIndependentView
Amber PotterIndependentView
Kate GazzardGreensView
Martin DukeIndependentView
Rose HodgeIndependentView
Rob BullenIndependentView
Monica WinstonIndependentView
Liz PattisonIndependentView
David BellIndependentView

Anglesea (Surf Coast)

5 candidates, 2 vacancies. Anglesea (Surf Coast) electorate profile and candidates

Libby StapletonIndependentView
Tony RevellIndependentView
Raylene FordhamIndependentView
Mike BodsworthIndependentView
Liz WoodIndependentView

Winchelsea (Surf Coast)

5 candidates, 2 vacancies. Winchelsea (Surf Coast) electorate profile and candidates

Kirsty MetcalfIndependentView
Heather WellingtonIndependentView
Adrian SchonfelderIndependentView
James McIntyreIndependentView
Tony PhelpsIndependentView

Lorne (Surf Coast)

1 candidates, 1 vacancy. Lorne (Surf Coast) electorate profile and candidates

Gary AllenIndependentView

Golden Plains Shire

Cr Owen Sharkey
Golden Plains Mayor Cr Owen Sharkey

View Golden Plains Shire profile

Golden Plains Shire

13 candidates, 7 vacancies. Golden Plains Shire electorate profile and candidates

Gavin GambleGreensView
Tim HarropIndependentView
Cameron SteeleIndependentView
Les RoweIndependentView
Owen SharkeyIndependentView
Joanne GilbertIndependentView
Brett CunninghamIndependentView
Nathan HansfordIndependentView
Helena KirbyIndependentView
Greg NyaryIndependentView
Clayton WhitfieldIndependentView
Ian GetsomIndependentView
Andrea MahonIndependentView

Borough of Queenscliffe

Cr Ross Ebbels
Borough of Queenscliffe Mayor Cr Ross Ebbels on 94.7 The Pulse

View Borough of Queenscliffe profile

Borough of Queenscliffe

11 candidates, 5 vacancies. Borough of Queenscliffe electorate profile and candidates

Susan SalterIndependentView
Isabelle TolhurstIndependentView
Michael GroutIndependentView
Rob MintyIndependentView
Jacqui PierceIndependentView
Ross EbbelsIndependentView
Geoffrey MathewsIndependentView
Donnie GrigauIndependentView
Fleur HewittIndependentView
Amanda HoystedIndependentView
Zelda WaltersIndependentView