2019 Federal Election

Australia goes to the polls on 18 May 2019, marking the end of two terms of the federal Abbott-Turnbull-Morrison Coalition government. This election is for all 151 seats in the House of Representatives and half of the 76 senate seats.

In the Geelong region, the government holds the seat of Corangamite while the opposition holds the seat of Corio.

Due to changes in Victoria’s population since the last election, the boundaries of both Corio and Corangamite were redrawn in 2018. These changes make both seats more marginal than they were in 2016. The seat of Corangamite is now the most marginal government-held seat in the country, however Corio is still a fairly safe Labor seat.

In the senate, all twelve Victorian senators were elected in the 2016 double-dissolution. Six of these twelve senators are up for election this time, while the term of the remaining six will continue until 2022. See which senators are up for election here.

Overall Results

Formal Votes: 184,985

Elected Candidates

Richard MarlesLabor
Libby CokerLabor

Party Vote

The Greens
United Australia Party
Animal Justice Party
Rise Up Australia

Election Timeline

11 April– Election Called. Dissolution of the House of Representatives, writs issued.
18 April 6pm – Close of rolls
23 April 12pm– Close of nominations
24 April 12pm– Declaration of nominations and ballot draw
29 April– Pre-poll opens
29 April 10am94.7 The Pulse Corio Candidates Forum
30 April 10am94.7 The Pulse Corangamite Candidates Forum
18 May- Election Day, polls close at 6pm

Candidates Forums

Would you like to submit a question online for our federal candidates to answer? Or perhaps you’d like to be in the live studio audience? Register your interest here.

Latest Interview

Listen to more interviews about the election >




4 candidates, 1 vacancy. Corio electorate profile and candidates

Richard MarlesLaborView
Alastair ThomsonLiberalView
Amber ForbesThe GreensView
Desmond SanbornUnited Australia PartyView


8 candidates, 1 vacancy. Corangamite electorate profile and candidates

Ian ErskineRise Up AustraliaView
Libby CokerLaborView
Simon NortheastThe GreensView
Naomi AdamsAnimal Justice PartyView
Damien ColeIndependentView
Sarah HendersonLiberalView
Neil HarveyUnited Australia PartyView
Mandy GrimleyJusticeView

Victoria (Senate)

8 candidates, 6 vacancies. Victoria (Senate) electorate profile and candidates

James PatersonLiberalView
Jane HumeLiberalView
Derryn HinchJusticeView
Kammy Cordner HuntIndependents For Climate Action NowView
Janet RiceThe GreensView
Raff CicconeLaborView
Gavin MarshallLaborView
Sunny ChandraIndependentView

Stay Updated

Like us on Facebook: